betacity


the nearest bakery to my house is two miles there and back
December 26, 2011, 5:30 pm
Filed under: betaCITY, Cities, food | Tags: , ,

Here is a letter I found online, a plea from a loyal citizen to the mayor of Philadelphia to do something about the fact that the only bread closer than two miles away is bad for you.  That’s a clear sign of a lousy neighborhood, maybe even a bad society.   If the FDA will allow factory bakeries to put unhealthy stuff in their ‘bread’ and the mayor won’t do anything, then it’s time to build a new society in which at root there is the commonly held belief that not having fresh bread within a quarter mile of every front door is unacceptable.  Dispatch pastry chefs into every corner of the country; charge them with making beautiful, fragrant and healthy loaves for their new neighbors.

Is there anything else you can’t get within a quarter mile of your front door?  Fresh fruits and vegetables?  Probably not, if you live in America.  Well then we must dispatch green grocers too.  And so on, until we actually have a living.

Here is the letter:

Dear Mr. Nutter,
I live in North Philadelphia and I like fresh bread.  On Saturdays I get up early and put on my walking shoes and walk two miles there and back to buy fresh bread from the nearest bakery to my house.  My feet hurt, but to me it’s worth it.  I could buy lousy factory made bread, but I hear it’s full of chemicals and preservatives that are bad for me and my family.
I am writing because I think every Philadelphian should be able to walk no more than a quarter mile to purchase a freshly baked loaf of bread, and to buy other fresh groceries.  Why, for instance, are all the groceries in my neighborhood in two or three big grocery stores whose owner doesn’t live nearby or even in the city?
All my friends tell me that the mayor of Philadelphia should be able to help to solve this critical problem.  Can you help us?

Respectfully yours,

Loyal Citizen

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

